Elfster, Giftster, Giftful and Amazon Lists compared
Elfster, Giftster, Giftful and Amazon Lists all hide gift claims from the list owner. Only Giftster and Giftful talk about lists for kids, and only Giftster says a parent who manages a child's list can still see what was claimed. We checked each app against its own help pages and App Store listing. Ratings below are from the App Store when we checked and will change.
| App | Hides claims from list owner? | Made for kids' lists? | Item with no link? | Givers need an account? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elfster | Yes | No. Its kid setting is for the gift exchange draw | Has a "write in" option; reviewers call it limited | Yes, to mark a gift purchased |
| Giftster | Yes: "never sees what's been claimed" | Yes. Parent sees claims on child account lists | Not stated on the listing | Not stated on the listing |
| Giftful | Yes: "without the recipient knowing" | Mentions lists for "your kids" and parental controls | Not stated; built around online stores | Not stated on the listing |
| Amazon Lists | Yes, with the surprise setting on | No | Its own products and Alexa only, per its guide | Buyers shop in the same store |
Elfster: strong for gift exchanges, harder for kids' lists
Elfster says a guest must be logged in to mark an item as purchased, and the owner never sees the mark. Its App Store listing pitches adding items from "Any online store, just paste the link." That works for adults shopping online. It is harder when your kid points at a shelf and there is no link. Elfster's only kid feature is in its gift exchange draw, where it can keep kids from being paired with adults. Rated 4.9 from about 330,000 ratings.
I've tried writing a simple word or item to put on my lists but it always makes me put a link.
Giftster: the clearest fit for a child's list
Giftster's App Store listing says "The person who made the list never sees what's been claimed" and lists "Create and manage lists for children" as a feature. In a developer reply on the same page, Giftster says that setting up a kid's list as a child account list lets the parent see item status in its Shop For view. So the child does not see claims, and you do. That solves the scooter problem above. Rated 4.8 from about 19,000 ratings.
Giftful: private claiming, account question open
Giftful's listing says friends and family "can privately claim gifts without the recipient knowing" and mentions wishlists for "your kids." Version 2.40.0 added parental controls. The listing does not say whether relatives need the app to claim a gift, and one reviewer wrote that some people "just haven't wanted to download the app." Ask your family before you commit. Rated 4.8 from 100,000+ ratings.
Amazon Lists as a Christmas list app: what the surprise setting hides
As a Christmas list app, Amazon Lists can hide purchases from you, the list owner, but nothing in the app keeps the list away from a child using your signed-in phone or tablet. According to Amazon's guide to Lists, with surprises protected you "won't see which items have been purchased unless you try to buy an item that someone already bought." The guide offers no way for a young child to run a list alone.
- The guide covers adding items from the store's own product pages and through Alexa. It does not cover other stores, so a toy from a local shop needs a workaround.
- The guide does not say how long purchases stay hidden. If you start the list in October, check its settings in December before you trust it.
- Anyone who opens the list on your signed-in device sees every idea on it.
Can a kid make their own wish list there? Not alone. Amazon's Conditions of Use say people under 18 may use the site only with a parent or guardian involved. The practical answer: make the list in your own account, name it after your child, and keep it private until you share it with family.
Why a written Christmas list is worth keeping hidden
A written Christmas list is worth the effort because kids ask for a lot, families spend real money, and requested gifts land better than surprise picks. According to the National Retail Federation's 2025 holiday survey, shoppers planned to spend $890.49 per person on average, with $627.93 of that on gifts for family and friends. Forty-two percent planned to start shopping before November.
$627.93
Average planned spend per person on gifts for family and friends (NRF 2025 holiday survey)
Requested gifts are appreciated more. In five experiments published in 2011, researchers Francesca Gino and Francis Flynn found that people appreciated gifts from their own wish list more than gifts they did not ask for, while givers wrongly expected surprises to impress more. Givers were also "more receptive to a specific suggestion than to a list." For a grandparent, "the blue art kit from the craft store, about $25" beats "art stuff." Our guide to gifts from grandparents has more on this.
The list needs hiding because of where kids spend screen time. According to Pew Research Center (2025), 68% of parents of kids 12 and under say their child uses a tablet, and 61% say a smartphone. If the list lives on a shared tablet, assume your child will find it. For the physical side, see where to hide Christmas presents.
Where Santa Wishlist fits as a Christmas list app
Santa Wishlist is a parent's phone app built for the aisle moment, the step before most Christmas list apps start. Your kid says "I want THAT." You snap a photo or type a message and send it to Santa, and Santa writes back in character within seconds, using your child's name and age if you choose to share them. Santa's replies are written by AI, and we say so plainly.
Behind the scenes, the elves log the item (photo, name, estimated price, and the store if it can tell) to a hidden gift list for that child. The list is locked behind your PIN or Face ID, has a "got it" checkbox, and exports as plain text you can send to grandparents.
- A family account holds up to 4 people (the owner, co-parents and grandparents), each with their own login and Parent PIN. For anyone else, you export the list and send it.
- Relatives do not claim gifts inside the app. You check items off yourself.
- No voice or video calls with Santa, and no Santa tracker.
- English only, and Santa never promises your child a gift.
The parent holds the phone. Every message is checked both ways by automated filters, with no open chat, no strangers and no ads. Photos stay private and are deleted with your account. See how we handle safety. The first 10 messages are free, then Candy Cane packs run $2.99 to $9.99, or a Whole Season Pass is $19.99 through Dec 31. No subscriptions. Details are on pricing.
Santa Wishlist launches mid November 2026 on the App Store and Google Play. Join the list and we will tell you the day it is live.
Join the launch list
